Palabras de Azucar

.Art.Bike.Free.

Posted in Arte, summer times by Lalita on 24 July 2010

I like art.

I like bikes.

I like random acts of awesomeness.

I like PaperGirl

I come from the mentality that art should be affordable and for all. I think that is why I am so drawn to murals and colorful outdoor installments.

I follow a few street art blogs, and via Robots Will Kill blog I discovered PaperGirl-NY State.

PaperGirl is an organization which promotes art in a very unique way!
Rollable art is submitted-displayed and exhibited and then rolled up to go on a bicycle ride to be given out to people at random.
Nothing is expected from those who are chosen to get one of these rolled up masters.

Being a New(new)Yorker I have experienced the money side of the art world. I must admit, it makes me sad. Not only curators but also artist have fallen victim to the dollar.
I get it, I understand the hustle, I understand the price of living here. But at times I also wonder how things would be if expression could be made without having to put a price on it. What if an artist could share their message without muddying it with $.

Everyone should have access to art in some form. And who doesn’t like random acts of kindness? Random Free Art? BONUS!

It is still not too late to submit a piece! The deadline was extended to August 1st, 2010

Watch this and absorb the awesomeness that is PaperGirl!

Foto from here

Packages send to:

PaperGirl  at The MarketPlace Gallery
40 Broadway, Suite #23
Albany, NY 12202

Hand Delivery
To hand deliver your art to the Marketplace Gallery, contact Samson at:
The MarketplaceGalleryNY@gmail.com
or drop off your art during the open hours of the gallery.

July 21 and 28 from 4-6pm there will be chances to personally drop-off art
Location TBA. These drop-offs will be in NYC and in Albany. Locations are being set-up. If you have a suggestion, please send it along.


Contact Samson at the Marketplace Gallery at TheMarketplaceGalleryNY@gmail.com
or PaperGirl.Albany@gmail.com for more information.
Check out their website PaperGirl-NY State
questions or comments email them at PaperGirl.Albany@gmail.com
And YES, I plan on submitting. I am recruiting everyone to join this venture with me! SO bloglandia-get it in! If you are in the area and want to submit I can meet up with you and drop it off for you!!


pictures of my piece soon!


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Santi said, on 1 August 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Thank you


Leave a Reply

