Palabras de Azucar

Stand by your man….

Posted in Arte, Partner-in-crime by Lalita on 18 June 2010

Johann Mittnacht

WARNING! THIS POST IS MAD GIRLIE!!! CONTINUE ONLY IF YOU WANT TO READ SOME “AWWW-MUSHY”  ‘ISH

I realized I have not said this to him yet. and you (my loyal 3 readers 😉 ) are the first to hear(read) it.

Last night I attended the launch party for White Train.

I got off work and raced downtown. As I spilled onto Canal street a pang of anxiousness hit me. I was meeting family & friends of his for the first time.  Networking would be involved. and of course, His art work would be on display.

all that made me anxious. but that last one especially.

When you are with an artist/musician/cook you have to understand that the passion will always be part of them. Their way of life is consumed by this. And being their partner you have to embrace and try to understand it.

I always cringe a bit when a guy says he is in a band or he is an artist. If I don’t like the music or the work, well, I am pretty sure it would be hard to stay together. I tend to be a bit too blunt. But when I do like it, that passion becomes infectious and I want to support and help anyway I can.

Damn, digress much?
Back to last night.

I climbed the 4 flights of stairs in my work heels, which I donned so he could at least see me in a cute work outfit.
I scanned the room, and decided to take one walk around alone.

Seeing an old face, I chatted and explained I was there to support the cause and *gasp* my boyfriend (saying it still sounds foreign)

I walked over a few people to his pieces and while chatting I spotted him in the crowd.

The moment I saw him my heart sank and joined the butterflies in my tummy.
I knew he was working on no sleep, no food-yet his kind gentle eyes and large smile warmed me.

I love his passion and drive. I have seen first hand his late nights and determination to get it all done.  He pushes himself to grind on the 9-5 so he can work on his 6-1.

I was proud to be by his side…to be his partner-in-crime.

The piece above had been hanging above his bed area for a while.  Secretly it is my favorite. last night/this morning after getting back to Brooklyn I laid on my side of the bed, looked up at the empty space and thought back to the stories I had created when my bouts of insomnia hit or when I woke up early and tried to get back to sleep.

To me it is two people conversing. eager to share their days with each other. letting the other know what is going on.

This morning after I snoozed my first alarm, I looked over and saw his peacefully resting. My morning thoughts tend to fill an instant to-do list, but not this morning, this morning I pretended we were living art work-able to live in reality but also dance in our dreams.

Ok this is like the gushiest post ever. sorry. I never thought I would be “that girl”

But I can not help it. I am very proud of him and I am happy that he is pushing forward.

I so can not wait for his new designs to get printed!

*ok* done being a girl for now.

(one last picture of us cleaning up his space where his pieces hung last night-Note his world cup shirt…..designed and printed by him)

(fotos by Frankie Velez)

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie said, on 8 July 2010 at 2:08 pm

    AWWWWW! When are you bringing your BOYFRIEND to OG. I love artists!

  2. Lalita said, on 8 July 2010 at 3:07 pm

    hahaha…and he loves the beach.. 🙂

  3. Katie said, on 8 July 2010 at 7:09 pm

    seriously, you are both welcome any time. we have a spare bedroom!

  4. Lalita said, on 8 July 2010 at 7:34 pm

    email me your address por favor!


Leave a comment